Harford County Public Library Holds Annual Staff Day

At Harford County Public Library’s Staff Day on October 9, Johneva MicKey, library assistant I at the Jarrettsville Library (third from right), is recognized for her 30 years of service by Beth LaPenotiere, senior director, public services (left); Kathy Cogar, chief financial officer; Daria Parry, chief operating officer; Mary Hastler, CEO; and Charles Ross, senior director, human resources. (Photo by Megan Janiski/Shutter Star Photography, LLC)

Honors Nearly 50 Staff Members for Service Anniversaries

At its annual Staff Day, Harford County Public Library celebrated its team and honored nearly 50 staff members for various years of service. Held October 9 at the Richlin Ballroom with a theme of “Future Ready,” Staff  Day also featured a group presentation and activities, and the presentation of service awards.

Nearly 50 Library staff members were honored for years of service ranging from two years to 35 years. Among those honored were Kathleen Armstrong for 35 years of service; Johneva MicKey for 30 years; Annette Gaskins, Cindy Height, Gail Isennock and Julie Wood for 25 years; and Maureen Benesch, Frank DiBeneditto, Karen Dull, Tara Ferstermann, Jennifer Fesche, Patricia Hagan, Lienna Hillenburg and Sharon Neary, for 20 years.  

The Roenna Fahrney Recognition Award, named in honor of Roenna Fahrney who was library director from 1957-78, honors exceptional performance of staff members who demonstrate outstanding service to the community spirit. Individual Roenna Fahrney Awards were presented at Staff Day to Bridget Bloomer, Abingdon Library, and Kelly Donelson, Silver Reader. The group award winners were Elizabeth Bowker, Jarrettsville Library; Liz Brucksch, Bel Air Library; Karen Dull, Joppa Library; Annie Kovach, Bel Air Library; Beth LaPenotiere, Administration; Jason Mathis, Administration; Julie Parsons, Bel Air Library; Jamie Reilly, Havre de Grace Library; Ryan Rickels, Administration; Adam Romanik, Administration; Deb Ruth, Administration; Leslie Greenly Smith, Administration; and Pam Taylor, Joppa Library.

Also taking place at Staff Day were a “Future Ready” group presentation and activities led by

staff members. Library CEO Mary Hastler shared Library highlights and milestones in her state-of-the-library presentation.

“Staff Day is always a wonderful opportunity for our colleagues to come together to celebrate all we have accomplished over the past year and to celebrate our great plans for the future. At Harford County Public Library, the skill and dedication of our incredible staff are evident every day, and it is such a treat to celebrate together,” said Hastler.

Staff Day was chaired by Charles Ross. Jennifer Button, Maurice Coleman, Scott Gentile, Lisa Mittman and Will Sexton served on the planning committee.

Harford County Public Library operates 11 branches located throughout Harford County offering access to ideas that inform, entertain and inspire. Last year the Library interacted with its residents more than 12 million times – borrowing free materials, visiting branches and the website, using free WiFi, and attending classes and events. In 2023 Harford County Public Library received Graphic Design USA’s American Inhouse Design Award™ for graphic excellence, the third time in five years. For more information, visit HCPLonline.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.