Harford County Public Schools hosted an open house event for the newly-renovated historic Ice House at the Harford Glen Education Center on April 5, 2018. The event honored The Harford Glen Foundation members and donors.
In late 2016, the Harford Glen Foundation requested and received approval from the Board of Education of Harford County to restore and memorialize the Ice House on the Harford Glen campus. The existing structure at the time was a wood frame building, constructed in the early 1800’s. Over time, the Ice House was affected by weather and aging and was not able to serve as a historical teaching venue.
The restored Ice House will now allow for additional programmatic lessons and experiences that will help preserve the agricultural history of the area. It will serve as an excellent teaching tool for educators in both science and social studies content areas.
Harford County Public Schools’ Facilities Department oversaw the project, with input from Assistant Supervisor of Science Howard Eakes. Work was performed by Hays Construction using a very generous donation to The Harford Glen Foundation by Mrs. Eva Eakes. Mrs. Eakes requested a small plaque be placed on the restored Ice House to honor her late husband, Mr. William Eakes.
Local ice harvesting history and historic tools were showcased during the open house.