Harford Community College Employee Named Northeastern Maryland Technology Council Visionary Award Recipient

Harford Community College Faculty Page Head Shots photographed by Commercial Photographer, Robin Sommer of MidAtlantic Photographic LLC

Andrew Adams, Associate Professor of Biology at Harford Community College, has been named a 2023 NMTC Visionary Award winner in the Mentor Category. Along with other award recipients, he will be honored at the 12th NMTC Visionary Awards ceremony on February 23 at Waters Edge Event Center in Belcamp, MD.

Adams earned a B.S. in Biology and Animal Behavior at Juniata College in Huntingdon, PA and an M.A. in Ecology and Environmental Science at Central Connecticut State University in New Britain, CT.  His main interests include ecology and conservation biology with a focus on reptiles and amphibians. He is involved in wildlife research and monitoring projects with various nonprofit organizations and government agencies. 

Courses that Adams teaches at Harford include Foundations of Biology, General Zoology, General Biology II, Introduction to Environmental Science, Environmental Science Lab, Principles of Environmental Analysis, and Environmental Problems.

Several Marylanders were honored this year for their volunteer efforts that contribute to STEM-educated workforce development and advancing our technology and innovation base to grow the economy and protect national security. The NMTC awards gala, the largest of its kind in Maryland, is supported by leaders and contributors from industry, government, and education.

The 2023 Visionary Award recipients fall into several categories. The Visionary honoree, Bruce England, is the retired President of the Susquehanna Workforce Network. Leader honorees include Alvie Johnson, Data Systems Analysts, Inc.; Rob Limpert, Harford County Public Schools; and Dr. David Hairston, Human Research and Engineering Directorate, U.S. Army Research Lab. Awardees in the Innovator category include Melissa Burke, Cecil College; and Bill Jones, Data Systems Analysts, Inc. Mentor category honorees include Andrew (Andy) Adams, Harford Community College; Diana Patrick, Mid Atlantic Developers SharePoint User Group; Dr. Peter Plostins, U.S. Army Research Lab. (ret.); Patrick Rogers, Caelum Research Corporation; and Mentor Team – Aaron Armus, Jack Doolittle, Aaron Wawrzyniak, and Liam Janis from SURVICE Engineering and John Feser from Blue Sky Technology. Rising Star honorees are Lauren Beward, Bravura Information Technology Systems; and Jaime Wilson, U.S. Army Research lab.

The Visionary category recognizes a person who is making significant contributions to our entire community’s well-being displayed as a personal commitment to the advancement of building our Workforce for the Future or advancing Innovation & Technology, with demonstrated qualities of enlightened leadership over a remarkable period.

The Leader category acknowledges the individual’s steadfast, consistent contribution to building our S.T.E.M. Educated Workforce or advancing our Innovation & Technology base in a public way while inspiring others to help in accomplishing shared goals.

The Innovator category recognizes exceptional personal efforts in developing and implementing innovative programs/products benefiting building our S.T.E.M. Educated Workforce or advancing our Innovation & Technology base, with the potential for broad positive impact in the community.

The Mentor category recognizes those who consistently go above and beyond in volunteering their knowledge, experiences, and wisdom to stimulate and inspire greatness in students, teachers, or emerging technology businesses.

The Rising Star category acknowledges those who demonstrated the potential to be excellent, long-term contributors to building the S.T.E.M. Educated workforce or advancing our Innovation & Technology base.

Previous NMTC Visionary Award winners from Harford Community College include Al Horst, Richard Schwanke, Marlene Lieb, John Mayhorne, Deb Wrobel, Denise Carnaggio, Bruce Burns, Rob Lieb, Sandra Young, Dennis Hiebert, Frank Mayer, Dawn Grissom, Laura Cianelli Preston, and Jacklyn (Jackie) Madden.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.