Harford Chamber Celebrates Its Outstanding Members


Announces FY2023 Board of Directors, Hall of Fame Award, and Member of the Year

The Harford County Chamber of Commerce hosted its Annual Dinner and Gavel Exchange on Thursday, June 16th at Leidos Field at Ripken Stadium. The Chamber would like to thank this year’s event sponsors: the University of Maryland Upper Chesapeake Health, Harford County Office of Community & Economic Development, and Harford Community College, as well as guests and partners, gathered to celebrate them; the members!

Harford Chamber Board of Directors Chair, Lee Tayson, from Comparion Insurance Agency, welcomed attendees and recognized Harford County community leaders in attendance.

President & CEO of University of Maryland Upper Chesapeake Health, Elizabeth Wise, spoke to attendees, sharing how proud she was of their medical and hospital staff over the past year during the ongoing pandemic. She discussed the expansion at the Bel Air campus and provided a construction update on the Aberdeen campus. Wise expressed her enthusiasm to be a part of the Harford County community.

Angela Rose, Harford County Chamber President & CEO, Heather Murphy, Vice President of the Harford Chamber of Commerce, and Lee Tayson recognized the 2022 Member of the Year recipient, Joe Ayler of Tar Heel Construction. A long-standing Chamber member, Joe has been an active Chamber supporter and donated a new roof to the Chamber building in Summer 2021.  In addition to Joe’s Chamber contributions, Joe and Tar Heel Construction are dedicated community stewards supporting various non-profit organizations.

Denise Carnaggio, Harford Community College, was recognized as the 2022 Harford Chamber Hall of Fame recipient. Denise advocated throughout the years to build relationships between community partners and spearheaded several initiatives relevant to Aberdeen Proving Ground.  This Superwoman worked in economic development for many years and retired at the end of June where she served as the APG Liaison and Strategic Partnerships Coordinator at Harford Community College.  Denise was actively involved in the Chamber’s Military Affairs Committee, being an integral contributor to the annual Military Appreciation Luncheon.

Harford Chamber Board Chair Lee Tayson reflected on the highlights of his two-year term as Chair of the Chamber’s Board of Directors. Throughout 2022, the Harford Chamber continued to provide its members with a voice in advocacy efforts, unparalleled opportunities to make meaningful connections, educational and professional development tools, and cost-savings programs. The members in attendance voted to elect the FY 23 Officers and Board.  After the election, there was a ceremonial passing of the gavel from Tayson to newly elected Board Chair, Mary Ann Bogarty of Jarrettsville Federal Savings and Loan. In addition to Mary Ann, the FY 23 elected Officers include Chair-Elect: Brianne Baccaro Norris of Weyrich, Cronin, and Sorra; Vice-Chair of Finance: Chris Stone of E-Moxie; Vice-Chair of Administration: Monica Worrell of APG Federal Credit Union. Meghan Jack- Medstar Health at Bel Air, Bob Wehland-Freedom Federal Credit Union, and Matthew Scales-Visit Harford were elected to begin their first three-year term as Board Directors.  And Chanel Rhoads Reed-BGE and Eric Rebbert-Chesapeake Bank of Maryland were elected to their second three-year term.

In-Term Directors are Josh Nelson of Chesapeake Environmental Management; Mike Ray of SURVICE Engineering; Anthony DiPaula, DiPaula Law; Dr. Theresa Felder, Harford Community College; Mary Hastler, Harford County Public Library; and Sarah Karantonis, University of Maryland Upper Chesapeake Health. Chad Arrington, The Kelly Group; Len Parrish, Harford County Office of Community and Economic Development; Terry Grant of Katz Abosch; Andy Guckert of M & T Bank; Mike Maxwell of Maxed Out Home Group; and Dr. SeanBulson of Harford County Public Schools.

The Harford Chamber would like to express gratitude to the outgoing Immediate Past- Chair, Patrice Ricciardi-Freedom Federal Credit Union, for her 9 years of dedicated service and Linda Hawes-MedStar Health for her term of service.

As the Harford Chamber celebrates the wonderful members, we ask that you offer a referral! We are here to support all businesses and organizations in Harford County and as the Chamber grows, their voice and resource network amplifies. Learn how the Harford Chamber is your Advocate, Connector, and Educator at HarfordChamber.org and invite a peer or friend to join us at an upcoming event.

The Harford Chamber would like to thank the evening’s sponsors: Harford County Office of Community & Economic Development, Harford Community College, Baltimore Gas & Electric, Harford County Public Library, Peoples Bank, Rise Dispensary, SURVICE Engineering, Freedom Federal Credit Union, Weyrich, Cronin, and Sorra, USB Payment Processing, Jarrettsville Federal Savings and Loan, Friends of Billy Boniface, APG Federal Credit Union, Vagabond Sandwich Co, Melnyk & Wiseman, Battelle, The Leadership Authority, Tarheel Construction, E-Moxie, The Kelly Group, DiPaula Law, MAXED OUT Home Group,  Sit Means Sit, M&T Bank, and, of course, University of Maryland Upper Chesapeake Health!

About the Harford County Chamber of Commerce:The Harford County Chamber of Commerce has worked continually as the recognized voice of business in Harford County since 1976. The Harford Chamber is the premier business advocate in the county, helping members connect and thrive to create a vibrant economy across all sectors. For more information, please contact Lauren Bottcher at lauren@harfordchamber.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.