Nominations Open for 2019 Harford County Historic Preservation Awards


Nominations are now open for the 2019 Harford County Historic Preservation Awards. The awards presented by the Harford County Historic Preservation Commission, in partnership with the county Department of Planning and Zoning, continue a tradition started in 1995 to honor excellence in historic preservation within the county.The deadline for nominations is Friday, January 18, 2019. 

The biennial awards recognize significant contributions in the field of historic preservation made by individuals, organizations, community groups and local governments. The awards will be presented at Harford’s Historic Preservation Awards ceremony in May during National Historic Preservation Month.

Nominations may be made in the following four categories: 

Preservation Project awards recognize various preservation, restoration, rehabilitation, and adaptive reuse projects in Harford County. These may include projects of an archeological nature.

Special Preservation awards recognize publications, exhibits, demonstrations,workshops, unique presentations, and stewardship and advocacy efforts that focus on the county’s historic architecture, archaeology, or cultural heritage.

Local Government Preservation awards recognize projects and individuals at the local government level for efforts in historic preservation.

The Preservationist Honor Award recognizes an individual, museum,organization, or business that has advanced the cause of historic preservation in Harford County over a lengthy time period.

Nominated projects,publications, workshops, etc. must have been completed, published, or have occurred within the past two years. More information and nomination packets are available on the county website at

Completed nominations can be mailed to the Department of Planning & Zoning c/o Caitlin Merritt at 220 S.Main St., Bel Air, MD 21014 or emailed to [email protected].

The Harford County Historic Preservation Commission is an appointed, seven-member board whose members work closely with the Department of Planning and Zoning to advocate for the preservation of the county’s historic and cultural resources.Commissioners meet monthly and are responsible for recommending properties to the County Historic Landmarks list, assisting property owners on the physical and financial aspects of preservation, and cultivating community support for the preservation and promotion of the county’s historic and cultural heritage.More information is available by contacting Caitlin Merritt in the Department of Planning and Zoning at 410-638-3103, extension 1385.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.