Harford County Recognizes 23 “Champions for Children & Youth”



Pictured from left, front row: Shawn Kros, chair, and Silvana Bowker, director, Harford County Local Management Board; award recipients Sgt. Kevin Taylor, Jerry Reyerson, Carolyn Lambdin, Robin Nemser, Nancy Brugh, Bonita Holland-Buchanan, Christle Henzel, Jenny Jakulin, Jennifer MyersSmith, Courtney Gurrera; and Amber Shrodes, director, Harford County Department of Community Services. Back row from left: award recipients Denise Caudill, Kaitlyn Trexler, Lisa Marts, Tiffany Kinsler, Curtis Kinsler, Tony Harris, Madison Caputo, Sandy Pierce, Ashlee Brockwell, and Amanda Dorsey. Not pictured: award recipients Barbara Bunney, Jamie-Lynne Dole and Eric Johnson.


Harford County honored 23 individuals who have improved the lives of local youth at the 2017 Champions for Children and Youth Awards held June 23 in Edgewood Hall at Harford Community College in Bel Air. The awards presented by the Harford County Department of Community Services Local Management Board celebrate professionals, volunteers, and youth who go above and beyond to help young people in our community.


Shawn Kros, chair of the Harford County Local Management Board, opened the ceremony and introduced 18-year-old Kaitlyn Trexler, who provided remarks as the 2017 Champions for Children Youth of the Year. Kaitlyn inspired the crowd with her passion for serving as president of the Fallston High School Best Buddies Chapter, an organization dedicated to ending the social, physical and economic isolation of people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD).


“Helping the children in our community doesn’t just help them, it helps you,” Kaitlyn said.


In addition to Kaitlyn, the 2017 recipients of the Harford County Champions for Children and Youth Award are: Ashlee Brockwell, Nancy Brugh, Barbara Bunney, Madison Caputo, Destiny Caudill, Jamie-Lynn Dole, Amanda Dorsey, Courtney Gurrera, Tony Harris, Christle Henzel, Bonita Holland-Buchanan, Jenny Jakulin, Eric Johnson, Curtis and Tiffany Kinsler, Carolyn Lambdin, Lisa Marts, Jennifer MyersSmith, Robin Nemser, Sandy Pierce, Jerry Reyerson, and Harford County Sheriff’s Office Sergeant Kevin Taylor.


Each Nominee received a framed piece of art by Lindsey Hickam, a third grade student at Prospect Mill Elementary School.   Each year, the committee chooses artwork created by a local child for the Champions for Children Award, to symbolize the work being done to enhance the lives of youth in Harford County.


Sponsors for this year’s event include The Arc Northern Chesapeake Region, Catholic Charities, Harford Community College, Harford County Department of Social Services, and the Harford County Public Library.


“We want our next generation to reach their full potential, and we are grateful for the vital work done by these 2017 Champions for Children and Youth,” County Executive Barry Glassman said. “Their efforts support the health, education and protection of our youngest citizens and build a stronger future for Harford County.”


The Harford County Local Management Board works continually to improve outcomes for children, youth and families. For information, contact 410-638-3166 or lmb@harfordcountymd.gov.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.