Northeastern Maryland Technology Council (NMTC) Honors Visionary Award Winners for 2017



Alison Baranowski, fourth grade teacher at Havre de Grace Elementary School, is pictured in the top row, third in from the left (missing is Dr Ebony Roper)


Fourteen Marylander’s were honored at February 23, 2017 Ceremony


A select group of Marylanders received the prestigious Visionary Award on February 23, 2017, for their contributions to the advancement of STEM education and technology. The ceremony, at the Richlin Ballroom in Edgewood, MD, now in its sixth year, was attended by 200 leaders in industry, government, and education.


“We honor remarkable people who continue to play key roles in moving our region forward in the areas of STEM education and technology,” said NMTC Board Chair, Michael Parker. “These are individuals who selflessly donate their time and talents to make a difference in their community.”


The 2017 Visionary Award winners, joining 60 previous Visionary Awards Honorees, are:

Visionary Dr. Mary Way Bolt, President, Cecil College.
Leader Joan Michel, Managing Partner, Profile Partners
Leader Dr. Patrick McNutt, Principal Investigator, Army Medical Research Institute of Chemical Defense
Leader Dr. John Suarez, Senior Research Engineer, Army Communications-Electronics Research, Development and Engineering Center
Innovator Dr. Veronica Dougherty, Chair, Sciences and Engineering, Cecil College
Innovator Scott English, Forester, Directorate of Public Works at Aberdeen Proving Ground
Innovator Marlene Lieb, Associate Vice President (retired), Harford Community College
Mentor Anne Marie Baumann, Lead Teacher, Cecil County Public Schools.
Mentor John Nierwinski, Operations Research Analyst & Adjunct Professor, Army Materiel Systems Analysis Activity and Florida Institute of Technology
Mentor Dr. Ebony Roper, Professor of Chemistry, Cecil College
Mentor Dick Schwanke, President, Senior Science Society at Harford Community College
Rising Star Alison Baranowski, Master Teacher, Harford County Public Schools
Rising Star Jerry Crabb, STEM Program Coordinator, Army Research Development and Engineering Command
Rising Star Jacqueline Wilson, Assistant Professor, Computer Science, Cecil College


“We are grateful to these individuals for helping our region grow to the next level. Northern Maryland has changed and our economic infrastructure is increasingly focused on research and technology development,” said John Casner, executive director of NMTC. “These are the individuals who are building the foundation for the future of our region.”


NMTC is Maryland’s fast growing technology council, connecting collaborative leaders in Academia,  Industry and the Federal Government to build a STEM educated workforce and advance innovation & technology growth, to grow the economy of our region and protect our national security.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.