Expert educators vie for prestigious title


The top five finalists for the 2017 Harford County Teacher of the Year award have been released and are listed in alphabetical order below. The judging panel had a difficult and unenviable task again this year with many outstanding teachers nominated for the award.

Michael Brogley

Michael Brogley, C. Milton Wright High School
Social Studies Teacher
Mr. Michael Brogley is a social studies teacher who has spent each of the nine years of his career in public education at C. Milton Wright High School. A 2007 graduate from Towson University, he obtained his bachelor’s degree in Secondary Education, and in 2014, went on to obtain his master’s degree in Instruction, Curriculum, and Assessment from Walden University. A passionate teacher of U.S. Government, History and World Politics, Mr. Brogley also coaches girls basketball, assists with the building of student schedules, and, for the past three years, has sponsored the popular Stand Up for Autism fundraiser that educates the community on Autism Spectrum Disorder and has raised more than $6,000 to date for Autism Speaks. Mr. Brogley was recognized by the Greater Excellence in Education Foundation in October of 2016 for his contributions to students and school climate.


Jessica Harcarik

Jessica Harcarik, Southampton Middle School
Health Teacher
Ms. Jessica Harcarik is currently in her 17th year of teaching Health. Ms. Harcarik received a Bachelor of Science in School/Community Health Education from Towson University in 2000, earning the Health Major of the Year Award. She earned her Master of Science in School Health Education in 2005 and School Counseling in 2010. In addition, she earned two Maryland Association for Health Physical Education Recreation and Dance awards: Health Education Emerging Leader Award in 2010, and the Simon McNeely Honor Award in 2012. In 2014, she achieved National Board Certification in Health. She is currently department chair, School Improvement Team co-facilitator, STARS Club leader, family life trainer, and Wellness Team chair. She is on the Curriculum and Assessment Team, Health Steering Committee, and supports current National Board candidates.


Amy Mangold

Amy Mangold, John Archer School
Special Education Teacher
Ms. Amy Mangold has spent the majority of her 14-year career teaching
students in the preschool special education classroom at John Archer School.
She graduated from Notre Dame of Maryland with a master’s in teaching
and from Johns Hopkins where she received certification in Early Childhood
Special Education. Ms. Mangold serves as part of the Instructional
Leadership Team, the School Improvement Team at John Archer, and
mentors students from Towson University. Beyond the walls of her
classroom, she also works to promote independent living skills for adults
with special needs in the community. Ms. Mangold and her 5-year-old son
are excited to raise money for children’s cancer research this spring.



Kristina Powell

Kristina Powell, Bel Air Elementary School
Vocal/General Music Teacher
Ms. Kristina Powell has taught vocal/general music at Bel Air Elementary
School for 14 years. She received her Associate of Arts in Music from
Harford Community College in 2000, her Bachelor of Arts in Music with
Teacher Certification from Salisbury University in 2002, and her Master
of Science in Music Education from Towson University in 2010. At Bel
Air Elementary School, she is on the Patriot and Scheduling committees
and volunteers with the Running Club. Outside of Bel Air Elementary,
she is on the board of Band Together, a non-profit organization providing
instruments to HCPS music students in need. She also teaches dance, mime and youth
leadership training.



Kelly Sayre

Kelly Sayre, Red Pump Elementary School
3rd Grade Teacher
Mrs. Kelly Sayre, a Harford County native, is in her 10th year of teaching
for Harford County Public Schools. During her career, she has taught
first through fourth grade. Mrs. Sayre received her bachelor’s degree in
Elementary and Special Education from the University of Delaware in
2007, and her master’s degree in Educational Leadership from Towson
University in 2010. She achieved National Board Certification in the
area of Literacy: Reading Language Arts in 2011. Mrs. Sayre shares her
passion for education as a curriculum writer, School Improvement Team
facilitator, professional development presenter, and as an organizer of various family-centered



This year’s Teacher of the Year Judging Committee reviewed and scored all nomination packets
to determine a pool of candidates that participated in an interview with a panel of seven judges.
The judges narrowed the pool to the top five finalists, one of which will be crowned the 2017
Harford County Teacher of the Year.


A surprise announcement of the winner will take place at the annual Harford County Teacher of
the Year Banquet to be held on Wednesday, March 15, at the Bayou Restaurant in Havre de
Grace. Again this year, the banquet is being provided by the Bayou Restaurant and HAR-CO
Credit Union, with many outstanding gifts for our finalists donated by local Harford County


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.