County Executive Glassman Appoints W. Paul Thompson Jr. Chairman of Harford’s Economic Development Advisory Board



Barry Glassman Harford County Seal


County Executive Barry Glassman is pleased to announce the appointment of W. Paul Thompson Jr. as chairman of the Economic Development Advisory Board, a 28-member body tasked with encouraging economic growth and development in Harford County. Mr. Thompson is currently a member of the Board, and the president and director of Architectural Design Works, Inc., an architectural and land planning firm with offices in Bel Air.


“I am appreciative of County Executive Glassman’s support in this new role,” Mr. Thompson said. “My interest is in helping to make our county a better place to live and work, through significant economic development initiatives.”


Economic Development Advisory Board (EDAB) members are volunteers selected by the county executive for their interest and experience in the economic development of Harford County. Members must represent specified areas of the public or private sector, including retail, applied technology, and land use.


Mr. Thompson is a Harford County resident with nearly 30 years of professional experience. He earned a bachelor’s degree in urban planning, specializing in architecture and business, from the University of Maryland, College Park. His broad practical experience includes directing design and construction documents for diverse building types. His projects have included master planning, historic renovation, and new facilities for institutional, municipal and commercial customers. Mr. Thompson’s volunteer service includes the Route 40 Business Association, Town of Bel Air Economic Community Development Commission, and the Harford County Historic Preservation Commission. He has served on EDAB since 2010.


“Paul has been Chair of EDAB’s Land Use Sub-committee and will be a valuable resource as the County moves through the upcoming comprehensive zoning process over the next year,” said Harford County Executive Barry Glassman.


EDAB members are appointed by the county executive and confirmed by the County Council. The county executive annually appoints the chair. Mr. Thompson will replace Eric E. McLauchlin, Esq., who is stepping down after two terms as chair and will remain on the Board.


For more information about EDAB, please visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.