Harford County Women of Tomorrow Awards Celebrate Young Women Committed to Community Service and Academic Achievement


Barry Glassman Harford County Seal


Celebrating outstanding young women in Harford County, the Harford County Commission for Women, a commission under County Executive Barry Glassman and the Department of Community Services, hosted the sixth annual Women of Tomorrow Awards on Tuesday, March 29, at the Bel Air Library.  The awards honor young women who are committed to compassionate community service and superior academic achievement. Nominees must be Harford County residents in grades 7 – 12 and nominated by a community member.


This year’s nominees were Sidney Biggs of St. Timothy’s School; Lucy Brooks of Havre de Grace High School; Adaline Diaz of Havre de Grace High School, and Sarah McCollum of Patterson Mill High School.  Nominees must complete essays including “What it means to be a Woman of Tomorrow.” All nominees received a certificate, a Harford County pin, and, in a surprise announcement, a $500 scholarship from Stephanie Hau, CEO of Chesapeake Environmental Management Services. Winners are chosen by grade level.


The 2016 Women of Tomorrow Award winners are Lucy Brooks for grades 11-12 and Adaline Diaz for grades 9-10.


Lucy Brooks is a senior at Havre de Grace High School where she is the president of the National Honor Society and a four-year member of the Class Council.  Lucy is also an award-winning athlete whose leadership roles include being captain of the volleyball and softball teams, and president of the Cultural Awareness Club and the Key Club. She has earned the Girl Scouts Bronze Award and volunteers at the Grace Place Soup Kitchen, Good Shepherd Catholic School, St. Patrick’s Community Center, and Rotary Club. Lucy maintains an above 4.0 GPA with a schedule of honors and AP classes.


Tenth-grader Adaline Diaz volunteers and cooks Sunday morning breakfast for firefighters and their families at the Darlington Volunteer Fire Company. A member of the Havre de Grace High School speech and debate team, Adaline also plays softball and was previously selected by Harford County Public Schools to attend the Young Women of Promise Leadership Conference for 2016. She is an Honor Roll student engaged in rigorous coursework with honors and AP classes. Her future goals include attending a four-year college and medical school.


In addition to their gifts as nominees, each winner received $100 and an LG Tablet.


Guest speakers at the awards ceremony included County Executive Barry Glassman, who expressed appreciation to all of the nominees on behalf of Harford County.


“Thank you for your service and academic achievement, as you represent the next generation of women leaders,” County Executive Glassman said.   He also thanked the Commission members for their service.


Guest speaker Sarah West Lobos, vice president of Women in Defense and a sponsor of the event, provided inspirational guidance and encouragement to the nominees.  Edward Hopkins, director of the Harford County Dept. of Emergency Services, recounted the life story of the late Maryterese Streett, this year’s “Woman of the Past” who was a successful teacher and local historian.  The key-note speaker and this year’s “Woman of the Present” was Stephanie Hau, CEO of Chesapeake Environmental Management Services and winner of the 2015 Athena Award. Ms. Hau encouraged attendees to be curious, learn, become engaged, contribute, and make an impact. The award reception and ceremony was co-hosted by Tori Lynch, chair of the Harford County Commission for Women, and Melynda Velez, committee chair for the Women of Tomorrow Awards.


The Harford County Commission for Women congratulates all of the nominees on their successes and commends them for their outstanding demonstration of volunteerism, leadership, community involvement, and commitment to academic excellence.  The Commission consists of 15 volunteer members appointed by the county executive with approval of the County Council to serve a three-year term.  Commission members support the economic, social and political equality of women.  For more information about the Commission for Women, please visit www.harfordcountymd.gov or contact 410-638-4739.


Applications for the 2017 Harford County Women of Tomorrow Awards will be available in the fall of 2016.


Pictured L-R: Steven Moffett and his daughter Adaline Diaz, Women of Tomorrow winner in the 9-10 grade category; David McCollum, his daughter Sarah McCollum, nominee, and Sarah’s mother Debra McCollum; Director of Community Services Amber Shrodes; Harford County Executive Barry Glassman; and Director of Emergency Services Edward Hopkins. (Not pictured: Women of Tomorrow winner in the 11-12 grade category, Lucy Brooks, and nominee Sydney Biggs, who were unable to attend the ceremony)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.